Frieze Seoul 2023 – Noe Aoki prints

Frieze Seoul 2023
Booth: C24

Artist:Noe Aoki

drypoint, 1 plate, 1 color (a set of 5), 2019
paper: Somerset white
image size: H36.5×W36.5cm, sheet size: H55.5×W52.5cm (each)
Edition of 20 (each)

deep etching, and more (a set of 5), 2011
image size: H33×W33cm, sheet size: H56×W50cm (each)
Edition of 20 (each)


Completed a Master’s degree at Musashino Art University. Since 1980s, one of the key materials that Aoki has often made use of is iron; a substance more abundant on earth than water, and one which has fascinated mankind for millennia. Her work is the result of a repeated process of fusing and welding numerous parts of industrial iron sheets together. Such craftsmanship induces and liberates the very notions of sculpture (through the chunks of material), and drastically alters the environment in which the work is installed. With careful consideration for the qualities of each space, and through substantial compositions that incorporate details both visible and invisible, her work establishes multiple lines of sight diverging from the existing sculptural form. In recent years, she has started to implement a range of materials from plaster to glass and even soap bars.

Aoki has been awarded the Minster of Education’s Choice: New Artist prize, Mainichi Arts Awards, and in 2017, the prestigious Nakahara Teijiro Prize. Since 1997, she has continued to create series of publications made in copperplate, woodcut and paper print, currently the total standing at 20. Aoki has held solo exhibitions at The Nagasaki Prefectural Art Museum(2019), Kirishima Open-Air Museum(2019), Fuchu Art Museum(2019), The Toyota Municipal Museum(2012), The Meguro Museum of Art Tokyo(2000), and more. Her artworks also collected by The National Museum of Modern Art Tokyo, The National Museum of Art Osaka, The Toyota Municipal Museum, Aichi Prefectural Museum of Art, and Agency for Cultural Affairs. Aoki has awarded Price for the Mainichi Art Price and Teijiro Nakahara Award; in 2021 she received the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Award for Art Encouragement.